Legal milestone: 221 lawyers maintain board certification, The Florida Bar's 'legal expert' status, for 30 years.


The Florida Bar Board of Legal Specialization & Education is proud to announce that 221 of The Florida Bar members who earned legal board certification in civil trial or tax law in 1983 have maintained their board certification status for 30 years, including eight who hold emeritus specialist status.

In Florida, only board certified lawyers may use the terms "specialist," "expert," or "B.C.S." for Board Certified Specialist when referring to their legal credentials. Members who hold emeritus specialist status no longer practice law, but are recognized for their past and continuing contribution in the advancement of the specialty area through other career activities.

"Maintaining board certification for 30 continuous years is a significant professional accomplishment," said Florida Bar President Gwynne A. Young of Carlton Fields in Tampa. "These individuals are leaders by example in Florida's legal profession and we salute their commitment to excellence and professionalism in the practice of law."

Board certification evaluates attorneys' special knowledge, skills and proficiency in various areas of law and professionalism and ethics in practice. About 4,600 of Florida's 93,000 lawyers have earned board certification. Florida offers 24 specialty areas for board certification, more than any other state.

The lawyers grouped below by judicial circuit, cities, and specialty areas this year are celebrating 30 years of Florida Bar board certification in civil trial or tax law.

First Circuit

(All from Pensacola)

Civil Trial

Thomas Larry Hill

Danny L. Kepner

Fredric Gerson Levin

Tax Law

Robert D. Hart, Jr.

William V. Linne

Wright Moulton

Second Circuit


Jon D. Caminez, Civil Trial


S. William Fuller, Jr., Civil Trial

Robert Stephen Hightower, Tax Law

James P. Judkins, Civil Trial

E.C. Deeno Kitchen, Civil Trial

Third Circuit

(Both Civil Trial)

Richard Bradford Davi, Jr., Jasper

Bruce Wayne Robinson, Lake City

Fourth Circuit

(All from Jacksonville)

Civil Trial

Charles Wayne Alford

The Honorable Tyrie William Boyer

Thomas R. Brown

William C. Gentry

John Wayne Hogan

Charles C. Howell III

Rutledge Richardson Liles

James Curtis Rinaman, Jr.

Robert F. Spohrer

James T. Terrell

Dianne Jay Weaver

Edward Alfred White

Tax Law

Thomas M. Donahoo

Michael N. Schneider

Frederick R. Short, Jr.

Fifth Circuit


Randy Robert Briggs, Civil Trial

Sixth Circuit

Belleair Bluffs

Hugh Nilsen Smith, Civil Trial


Civil Trial

Stephen Overstreet Cole

John M. Elias

Jeffrey Stuart O'Brien

Tax Law

John Marvin Guthrie

Julian Paul Raymond

St. Petersburg

Civil Trial

William F. Blews

David L. Bresler

Kenneth C. Deacon, Jr.

Larry David Goldstein

William C. Kaleel, Jr.

Thomas D. Masterson

Peter N. Meros

Howard P. Ross

Walter E. Smith

James Beckett Thompson

Richard Edward Wolverton

Tax Law

Joel D. Bronstein

Seventh Circuit

(All Civil Trial)

Daytona Beach


To continue reading